Dartford Choral Society first met in September 1919 with the first concert being held in March 1920, and except for the war years has presented two or more concerts each year since.

After the war, two well-known conductors - Dr Eric Thiman and his successor, Mr Alan Melville - built up the society and widened its repertoire.

Concerts are given in local churches and halls with orchestral or organ accompaniment.  Soloists are usually professionals and have included notably Isobel Baillie, Ann Mackay and Justin Lavender.

Past Musical Directors have been:

1984 - current    Michael Bell
1976 - 1984 David Atkinson
  - 1976 Michael Anderson


For further information, view our Home page
Dartford Choral Society 2020